Nikki

Nikki Robina, QLD 4226 1 booked recently chatting with 4 students

  • Medical student and fully qualified high school teacher hoping to excel students' learning and boost confidence

About Me

Hi, my name is Nikki. I am a 4th year medical student at Bond University and a fully qualified teacher. Through tutoring, I hope to help students become more enthusiastic about their learning. During my Bachelor's degree in Science, I gained a large knowledge base and developed a range of learning strategies which I think would help many students become more confident as they strengthen their study skills. As a teacher, I strongly believe in maintaining a healthy work-life balance. In my spare time, I enjoy cooking and playing social netball. I am also a Leader with Girl Guides WA, so that gives me a nice break in the week too. During my weekends, I often catch up with my friends and enjoy volunteering at the Salvation Army morning soup runs in the city.

Following my Bachelor of Science degree, I completed my Graduate Diploma in Education at UWA in Perth. It was only then that I understood the importance of understanding student individuality and how this affects their learning. I have been doing private tutoring for over 2 years now and am also a relief teacher at Greenwood College in Perth where I teach in a range of learning areas from Science and English to Maths and Media. My Graduate Diploma in Education has really taught me to understand how students learn and adapt my teaching to help meet each of their individual needs and preferred learning styles. I love interacting with students at that one-on-one level and enjoy seeing them improve over time, not only academically but in their growing self confidence and belief in their ability to succeed. Over my secondary and tertiary education, I have developed a strong foundation of studying strategies and revision techniques - something that I believe is just as important as learning the content itself. I like to share these with my students and help them find what techniques help them study best.

I tutor both lower and upper secondary Science, as well as primary and lower secondary Maths and English. With my upper secondary students (year 11-12), I believe that targeting learning is really important. My students usually present me with any topics/concepts/questions they have or are currently struggling with at school or for exam preparation. If not, then I prepare lesson plans and resources targeted to their syllabus/current topic at school.

With my lower secondary students (Year 7-10), I usually obtain a copy of their school syllabus and we work through the topic/s week by week, consolidating their understanding. However, this is in no way set and can always work out a plan than for works for you. I have also accumulated a range of resources and worksheets in my teaching that I am more than happy to share with my students during our sessions and for them to take home and use as a source of study. I also help with exam revision and written assignments, for example lab reports.

I tutor Mondays to Fridays, after school, as well as weekends depending on availability. I understand how busy school and other life commitments can be, as I am a uni student and teacher myself, so I am more than flexible with session dates/timings.


Qualification

Bachelor of Medical Studies and the Doctor of Medicine (Graduate Entry)

Bond University

2017 - 2021

(In Progress)

Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary Science) (Special Education)

University of Western Australia

2016 - 2016

Bachelor of Science (Anatomy & Human Biology and Physiology)

University of Western Australia

2013 - 2015


Background Check

  • Working with Children Check (Reference No.: 2416484, Expiry Date: 28/07/2018)
  • Police Check (Reference No.: SCN2260681497)

Lesson Information

  • Lesson Type:
  • One to One
  • In Group
  • Online
  • Lesson Language:
  • ESL
Nikki has no blog post yet.
Start a chat now if you have any blog post topic for Nikki.
  • Robina, QLD 4226