James

James Melbourne, VIC 3000 14 students contacted this tutor

  • I've been a Math tutor since 2012. I have experience tutoring years 7 to 12 including further, methods, and specialist maths in year 12, as well as first and second year engineering mathematics

About Me

Hey there! I'm James, I've been working in Maths Education since 2012 including private tutoring, tutoring in schools, working as a classroom teacher, and teaching at Monash University. I currently have availability for a few more students.

About me:
After school I took a gap year and studied a diploma of Jazz Music, I then studied Engineering and Business for 3 years. While I was studying Engineering and Business I started tutoring, both privately and in schools. I really enjoyed teaching so I changed degrees and have since completed a Bachelor in Science, majoring in Mathematics, and an Honour's in Secondary Education. Since completing my degree I have been working part time as a classroom teacher, part time teaching in the Mathematics department at Monash, and part time tutoring privately.

Outside of my formal education I also have a love of learning. I dance, play music, and learn Languages. Other than Maths, I have also taught music and dance.

My experiences as a Teacher and as a Student have helped me develop my skills as an educator and have exposed me to a diverse range of ways which people learn and how I can help my students achieve their educational goals.
In general, I believe that the best way to teach Maths is in a way which the student understands the concepts rather than just giving the student a method to produce an answer, which is how maths is commonly taught.


Qualification

Education and Science (Mathematics)

Monash

2016 - 2020

Engineering and Management (Incompleted)

RMIT

2013 - 2016


Background Check

  • Working with Children Check (Reference No.: Upon Request)
  • Police Check (Reference No.: Upon Request)

Promotion

First Lesson Free

The first lesson is very important for me to get to know the student and for the student to get to know me. It gives me an opportunity to find the students weak points and knowledge gaps. For these reasons, I do not charge for the first lesson.

Promotion End On



Subject

I have experience tutoring years 7 to 12 including Further, Methods, and Specialist Maths in year 12.

I work at Monash University teaching first year Engineering Mathematics.


Lesson Information

  • Lesson Type:
  • One to One
  • In Group
  • Online
James has no blog post yet.
Start a chat now if you have any blog post topic for James.
  • Melbourne, VIC 3000